top of page
Suche
  • AutorenbildSabrina Kment

BANGKOK – Skybar, Train Market, Thai Massage, Thai Cooking Class

Bangkok has many tourist attractions such as Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, Wat Suthat, Chatuchak Market (largest market in the world), Damnoen Saduak, Khao San Road, Lumpini Park, etc. Bangkok’s hectic traffic could be considered an attraction as well. Especially, China Town is crowded with people, motorbikes, cars, shops, and so much more.


Besides all those tourist attractions, there are four things you definitely have to do while in Bangkok.


The greatest view you can get from one of the rooftop bars. I am sure there are a lot of different options and some might be more expensive while others might be cheaper. However, I opted for a quite expensive one. I went up Sirocco Rooftop Bar, which is one if the highest rooftop bars of the world. This particular rooftop bar was used as a location for the movie Hangover 2.



I usually stick to the cheapest options while travelling and am always dressed comfortable. After two months of sleeping in hostels, travelling for hours in crowded buses, and eating food only at food stalls, I can say that I was a little overwhelmed by all the luxury. Luckily, I brought a nicer dress with me. Otherwise I'd have felt pretty uncomfortable. There was a lady whose only job it was to press the buttons at the elevator. Another one asked us if we want to stay inside or outside, then she opened a door and another lady lead us to a free space. During my travels in Asia I never had such an expensive drink again - a small bottle of water for 8€. Anyway, to enter the rooftop bar was free so it was okay for me. On top you can see the whole skyline of Bangkok. We went up in the afternoon and stayed for the sunset, which I really encourage you to do. You can stay on top as long as you want and believe me - you won't get bored. We stayed there for a little more than three hours and enjoyed our expensive drinks, talked, took pictures, and enjoyed the view.





Getting a traditional Thai Massage is another activity that should be done when in Bangkok. While Austria I could never afford a massage (about 80€ and more) it is super cheap in Thailand and it is offered everywhere. I went there with two travel mates who I met in Cambodia and we treated ourselves to a relaxing afternoon. I had never gotten a massage before and I definitely expected something gentler. I was surprised by the roughness and during the massage I thought that was probably the first and the last time I am getting a massage done. Nevertheless, after 45 minutes (for about 6€) I felt so much better. My feet and legs had actually been quite sore from all the walking and felt so much better after the massage.




Maeklong Railway Market is probably one of the most unusual markets. Maeklong Railway market may seem like every other market where vegetables and fruits are sold. What makes it so unique is the fact that the market is located on a train line. A few times a day, when the salesmen hear a horn, they move their products further back and a train runs directly through the market. This market is a little outside Bangkok and most tourists go there by bus or take a taxi/grab. Taking the train is less convenient but far more spectacular. We took the train from Bangkok city, had to change into a boat, which brought us to the other side of a river, and hopped onto a train again. It took us much longer than it would have if we had taken a grab, however; the train journey was so much fun and we could enjoy an amazing view.





Last but not least..... A MUST DO for every foodie! Everyone who is passionate about food and cooking or simply enjoys good food has to participate in a Cooking Class. Believe me you will love it as much as I did. Taking cooking classes has become quite popular and there is certainly no lack of opportunities to do one. I went online, checked prices and took the one with the best reviews. The cooking class I chose was called Sampong Thai Cooking Class and was one of the greatest things I have ever done. After arriving and being served some homemade juice and tea we all set down and for an hour all the ingredients and spices we were going to use were explained to us. This was not just super interesting and informative, but also really helpful since we got tips to how to see if the vegetables and fruits are ripe. Afterwards one of the women showed us how to cook Massaman Curry (my personal favourite in Thailand) Then we got a little apron and were lead to our cooking station, where we started cooking our own Massaman Curry. For the not so talented cooks help was always close. We cooked four different dishes in total and got some boxes so we could bring our dishes with us if we didn't manage to finish them. Additionally, we got a little cooking book with all the recipes of the dishes we made plus a few more recipes of the most popular Thai dishes. It was totally worth the money (25€) and an absolutely incredible experience. Also my friends and family at home are glad I did it because I have already cooked quite a few times a few of those dishes for them.






4 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Trip to SaPA

bottom of page